Exclusive First Listen: John Mellencamp's New Song 'Sometimes There's God'

Four years after his last record, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer John Mellencamp is back with more stirring songs about American life in his newest album, Plain Spoken.

You can listen to the record’s second track, “Sometimes There’s God,” exclusively on below:

The melancholy song about struggling with religion joins nine other thoughtfully crafted, rustic tracks on Plain Spoken, Mellencamp’s 22nd full-length studio album that comes almost 40 years after his first album’s release.

Mellencamp, 62, can next be seen performing at his annual Farm Aid benefit concert, cofounded with Willie Nelson and Neil Young, on September 13. The fundraiser works to save American family farms from foreclosure. Then in January, the Bloomington, Indiana native will kick off an 80-city North American tour.

Plain Spoken is due out September 23, but you can preorder the album now.

Check out the full track list:
1. “Troubled Man”
2. “Sometimes There’s God”
3. “The Isolation of Mister”
4. “The Company of Cowards”
5. “Tears In Vain”
6. “The Brass Ring”
7. “Freedom Of Speech”
8. “Blue Charlotte”
9. “The Courtesy of Kings”
10. “Lawless Times”

Listen to the album’s lead single, “Troubled Man”: