Mellencamp Nominated for Induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame

John Mellencamp has been nominated for the 2008 induction into the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame in New York. It is Mellencamp’s first nomination from the prestigious organization, and is in the Performer/Songwriters category.

The other nominees in the category include Benny Andersson, Stig Anderson, Bjorn Ulvaeus (the writers behind ABBA); Jimmy Buffett; Felix Cavaliere and Eddie Brigati (the Rascals); David Crosby, Stephen Stills & Graham Nash; Ray Davies (the Kinks); David Gates (Bread); Yusef Islam (aka Cat Stevens); Tommy James; Steve Miller; Leon Russell; and Bob Seger. There is also a Non-Performing Songwriters category.

To be eligible for nomination, a songwriter must have an extensive catalog of hits that date back at least 20 years. Voting members of the Hall of Fame will now vote for two Performer/Songwriters and three Non-Performing Songwriters from the lists of nominees. They have until November 12 to submit their ballots, after which the new inductees will be announced.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a variety of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Over the course of the past 39 years, some key Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees have included Irving Berlin, Johnny Mercer, George and Ira Gershwin, John Fogerty, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison and Cy Coleman among many, many others.